Life in Hollywood: Advertising

Screenwriters sometimes write ad copy. An Australian friend asked me to have a go at something new for Aeroplane Jelly. He had been paid a big advance for a draft now due, but after a week with me in Hollywood, he was too drunk and disoriented to write anything. The subject came up as we drank at the Pole Cats Lounge in East L.A. A dancer there uses aquamarine Jello onstage. After she finishes, she comes down and acts innocent while administering lap dances to patrons aghast at the glob of it she still holds in her hand.

98 words. An entry in the 100 Word Challenge.

4 Responses

  1. Well, I think you fudged a couple of the rules here, but my my biggest hurdle is Aeroplane Jelly. I don’t know if it’s a real product or company that I’ve just never heard of, or if it’s a shortcut borne of frustration with the words in the prompt.

    At any rate, it is verrry imaginative. 🙂

  2. Ehem! Very close I think. Not sure about that substance either. You always take us to a different place with your writing which is the way we improve!

Leave a Reply

