Busking 16

If you’re down around 23rd and 5th, stop on the corner and say hello, even if you’re too strapped in this double-dip economy to throw a buck or two into my hat.

I will peel vegetables for you, at the following rates:

Free – Your banana.

$1 – A dozen smooth spuds.

$2 – A dozen spuds with those annoying eyes all over them to dig out.

$3 – A dozen cukes, so you don’t have those rinds I hate in your salad.

$4 – Two bunches of broccoli. Don’t tell me that you throw this vegetable into the water unpeeled, to turn gray and mushy, and then serve it to your innocent and unsuspecting children.

$5 – A dozen peaches, after you put them in hot water to loosen the skins.

$10 – A pumpkin. Why would you want a peeled pumpkin? I’m not askin ha ha!

Watermelon – Please move along and take your watermelon with you.

2 Responses

  1. I once peeled a pumpkin when I was in a crazed, homemaker place and thought I’d make pumpkin pie using an Alice Waters recipe that made you cook the real pumpkin first and then I’m pretty sure you had to peel it. I’d give you ten bucks to do that any day.

    PS: I have noticed many vegetable and diet related posts on your blog and am wondering if maybe you are on some kind of raw veg regime. I hope not.

  2. I’ll eat a cooked vegetable, but for all other purposes I use the raw.

Leave a Reply

