Worst movies where Dad promises to make it to the kid’s performance or game

The marriage hinges on it:

“You’re never here for him/her!”

“Honey, I swear I’ll be there for Heidi’s  Christmas play.”

“You’d better be, you $%##*&.”

In these movies, it’s sort of Dad’s last chance. Hey, I’ve been there. You work and work, miss a family dinner or two, the kid is asleep when you get home, so you sit down in front of the game and have a few drinks instead of helping her with her homework, and the next thing you know, the wife hands you an ultimatum: Get your ass to the Forndale Gammar School auditorium and onto one of the folding chairs tomorrow night or we’re through! Your daughter is Dixon or Ditson or whatever the frack that reindeer is named and  she wants you there to see it.

Even if I had made it, the wife would have come up with something else the next week.

5. Jingle All the Way (1996) – I don’t actually go to many movies, especially since the divorce. I used to go with the wife and kid but now I usually just stop in at the Beer Sponge instead. I know that Arnold is a busy guy, a businessman,  in this one. Maybe he didn’t have to go to a Christmas pageant in the movie, I can’t remember, but I was proud to have him as Governor.

4. Up (2009) – There must be a thousand movies where Dad just makes it in time, or doesn’t make it, or whatever. You could google them. Somebody told me that the dad misses his kid’s ceremony in this one. What about all those negligent moms? What about them?

3. Precious (2009) – Like the mom in this one? Mo’Nique? She’s no prize. The dad shows up on time, too, even if it’s just to sexually molest his daughter. This guy will never be governor of anything.

2. Liar, Liar (1997) – Jim Carrey misses his son’s birthday party because he is having sex with his secretary. I’m taking this one off the list, because it seems like an acceptable excuse to me.

1. Tiger Woods – He’s not a movie, but Tiger, or Eldrick, as his friends and the hookers like to call him, missed his daughter’s birthday party. It was the final straw, along with the hookers.

3 Responses

  1. I’ve not seen any of these movies…I wonder if that”s a reflection of my own fear of rejection, or my general dislike for children 😉

Leave a Reply

